On Christmas Day, we went up to my grandparents’ and three of my dad’s siblings and their families were there.  I wanted to have a little gift for each of the families so we decided to make peppermint hot chocolate.   I searched for recipes online and tried two to compare.  This one looked good because it had mini chocolate chips and this other one looked delicious since it called for a package of chocolate pudding.  I had Eric try both and he suggested mixing them together.  After combining them, we tweaked it a bit more and eventually settled on our own recipe.  I had everything on hand except the coffee creamer so it was an easy and inexpensive gift.


Ingredients

2 cups powdered milk
2 cups non-dairy powdered coffee creamer
2 cups unsweetened cocoa powder
2 cups sugar
1½ cups mini chocolate chips
24 candy canes, crushed
1 tsp. salt

Mix well and store in an airtight container.

 

I found the idea online to use the flat side of a meat tenderizer to crush the candy canes.  This worked very well!

I had the perfect airtight glass container for storing my hot chocolate mix.  I use 1/4 cup of this hot chocolate mix for one mug and Eric uses about 1/3 cup for his.

Make a double batch so you can keep plenty for yourself to enjoy…

…and still have some to give away!

Go by some candy canes while they are on clearance!

